A couple of kitchen memories

When Daughter #1 was a preschooler, we spent an afternoon making cookies. She loved to help. After the cookies had baked and cooled, she took one bite out of her cookie and then put it into the refrigerator. I noticed that throughout the afternoon, she would occasionally go back to the refrigerator, take the cookie out, and then return it to the shelf. I was baffled by her actions till she asked me, “how long do I have to leave it in the refrigerator until it turns back into dough?”

A few years later, I was preparing to wash a sink full of dishes. I almost always use the dishwasher because washing dishes seemed like a huge chore. As I ran the water, Daughter #2 pushed the step stool over to the sink and asked with great enthusiasm, “Can I play dishes and bubbles?” So we played dishes and bubbles. The dishes were clean, and all the soapy water on the floor made the floor easier to mop. All these years later, I don’t mind hand washing the dishes so much because remembering her enthusiasm for dishes and bubbles gave me a new perspective for the task.

One thought on “A couple of kitchen memories

Leave a Reply

